menu Home
Local NewsSports

2024 Dover Athletic Hall of Fame inductees include Prince, Devore, Marino, Contini, Andreas, Krantz, Ellwood

| March 22, 2024
The Dover Tornado Club shared this snazzy graphic on its Facebook page to promote this year's class for the Dover High School Athletic Hall of Fame. It includes the club's past president, John Krantz, in the Lifetime Contributors category.

The Dover High School Athletic Hall of Fame has announced its 2024 inductees.

The Individual Inductees are:

  • Teresa Prince (Class of 1976)
  • Jamie Devore (Class of 1980)
  • Ryan Marino (Class of 1997) and
  • Brenton Contini (Class of 2002) .

Tom Andreas, Head Girls Basketball Coach (1988-1997), is the coaches category inductee.

John Krantz, Past President of the Dover Tornado Club, is the inductee in the Lifetime Contributors category.

Dick Ellwood (Class of 1947) is the inductee in the Legends category (typically those who have graduated prior to 1950).

The Induction Ceremony and Banquet will be held at the Dover Senior Center, 425 Prospect St. in Dover, on Thursday, Oct. 3, at 5:30 p.m. Dinner will begin promptly at 6:30 and the actual induction ceremony will begin at 7:30. Mike Gunther will serve as Master of Ceremonies. At 6:30 p.m. on Friday, Oct. 4, the inductees will be introduced at Crater Stadium during the Pre-game ceremony at the Dover Tornadoes Homecoming football game vs. Wooster.

For a bit of history, the Dover High School Athletic Hall of Fame currently has inducted 51 representatives: 13 Legends, 5 Contributors, 6 Teams and 27 Individuals. The first Induction Class of 2010 consisted of nine Legends. After an eight-year interruption, the Hall returned and presented its first Induction and Banquet in 2018. Since that return, an induction has been held every year with the exception of 2020 when Covid-related issues resulted in its cancellation. The banquet/ceremony has developed into one of the most celebratory evenings presented by the Dover Tornado Club and the Dover City Schools Athletic Department.

Written by