menu Home
Local NewsSports

Indian Valley puts nine wrestlers on All-IVC teams to win league title

| February 23, 2022

GNADENHUTTEN (WJER) (February 23, 2022) – The All-IVC wrestling teams were officially announced Wednesday, but the wrestlers earned those accolades this past Friday at the IVC Wresting Tournament at Claymont High School.

Indian Valley won the team title with four league champions and five runners-up – that’s nine All-IVC first or second team members.

Coach Dusty Braun says his team was a little banged up, so he’s proud of how they competed.

“It means a lot to me,” he said. “I still think it holds a special place in the kids’ hearts. They’re league champs. That will go on the banner in the gym.”

He says Learoy Steagall was the team’s MVP, breaking out of a recent rough patch to win the title at 120 pounds. Hunter Albright, Jaxon Burcher and Joe Reynolds won championships for the Braves.

Braun also was impressed by his returning state qualifier and senior Tyler Beckley. He missed three weeks due to injury but toughed it out and took third.

“People think that’s not a big deal, but those were his first matches in three weeks,” Braun said. “He was banged up a little bit, but he was going to give it a go. I was really pleased with his effort to go out there and get ’er done.”

Wrestling sectionals are Saturday. Most area schools are in Claymont or Sandy Valley but Indian Valley will compete at Steubenville in Division II. Braun says it’s a good draw.

“We’re hoping we get every guy out, but I think if you’re realistic as a coach, you hope to get ten guys out,” Braun said. “One day, Saturday, at 10 o’clock at Steubenville High School, and we’ll get ’er rumblin’.”

Tuscarawas County schools at the Division II Claymont sectional include the host team, New Philadelphia and Dover. In Division III, Tusky Valley, Garaway and Newcomerstown are at Sandy Valley.

2022 Inter Valley Conference Wrestling All League
Wrestler of Year: Wyatt Moyer, Sandy Valley
Coach of Year: Robbie Wilson, Malvern
1st Team
106lb: Brandon Boggs \ Jr. \ Sandy Valley
113lb: Kyle Miller \ Sr. \ Garaway
120lb: Leroy Steagall \ Soph. \ Indian Valley
126lb: Hunter Albright \ Jr. \ Indian Valley
132lb: TJ Wilson \ Soph \ Tusky Valley
138lb: Tyson Clear \ Soph \ Malvern
144lb: Brody Marks \ Sr. \ Sandy Valley
150lb: Brock Moyer \ Jr. \ Sandy Valley
157lb: Xavier Lamneck \ Sr. \ Ridgewood
165lb: Matt Gentry \ Sr. \ Sandy Valley
175lb: Jaxon Burcher \ Fr. \ Indian Valley
190lb: Trevor Slider \ Sr. \ Malvern
215lb: Wyatt Moyer \ Sr. \ Sandy Valley
285lb: Joe Reynolds \ Sr. \ Indian Valley
2nd Team
106lb: Dane Fawcett \ Fr. \ Claymont
113lb: Isaac Meese \ Soph. \ Indian Valley
120lb: Evan Natalie \ Soph \ Sandy Valley
126lb: Manny Walker \ Soph \ Malvern
132lb: Quake Beatty \ Soph \ Indian Valley
138lb: Dylan Hardesty \ Sr. \ Ridgewood
144lb: Domonique Millender \ Fr. \ Newcomerstown
150lb: Kyler Postlethwait \ Fr. \ Tusky Valley
157lb: Tristen Bryan \ Soph. \ Indian Valley
165lb: Remmington Myers \ Jr. \ Indian Valley
175lb: Andrew Congdon \ Jr \ Tusky Valley
190lb: Easton Cook \ Jr. \ Indian Valley
215lb: Zach Babiczuk \ Soph \ Malvern
285lb: Frank McClelland \ Jr. \ Malvern

2022 IVC Wrestling Final Team Results
1st: Indian Valley 222
2nd: Sandy Valley 178
3rd: Malvern 152.5
4th: Tusky Valley 118
5th: Claymont 106.5
6th: Ridgewood 88
7th: Newcomerstown 58
8th: Garaway 53
9th: Conotton Valley 3

Written by