menu Home
Local NewsSports

Local basketball players earn All-Ohio honors

| March 28, 2024

The OHSAA announced the All-Ohio honorees in basketball this week as selected by the Ohio Sportswriters Association.


Look at some of the local honorees, in Division I, Dover’s Carter Grove earned Special Mention recognition. His teammates Trey Ridgeway and Tommy Coletti earned Honorable Mention.

In Division II, Indian Valley freshman Ryker Williams is third team All-Ohio. His teammate Tyson Pryor is Special Mention and Tanyon McComb is Honorable Mention for the Braves.

New Philadelphia senior Colton Slaughter is All-Ohio Special Mention in Division II.

Claymont senior Brody Moreland is Honorable Mention.

In Division III, the Coach of the Year is Malvern’s Dennis Tucci whose team only lost one game this season. Malvern senior J’Allen Barrino is first-team All-Ohio. Earning Special Mention:

Malvern’s Mitchell Minor, Tusky Valley’s John Leffler and Sandy Valley’s Dantae Faiello.

Honorable Mention recognition went to Garaway’s Blaine Raber and Gabe Amicone, Sandy Valley’s Nick Petro and Malvern’s Rodney Smith.

In Division IV, Strasburg’s Gage Moore earned Special Mention.

Earning Honorable Mention, Brysen Grimes of Tuscarawas Central Catholic.


In Division II, Dover’s Morgan Karam and New Philadelphia’s Ellie Mason earned All-Ohio Special Mention.

In Division III, Tusky Valley’s Leah Bourquin is Second Team All-Ohio in Division III.

Earning Special mention: Ridgewood’s Kya Masloski and Kaleigh Norris.

Earning Honorable mention: Tusky Valley’s Sally Ray and Locie Levengood, Sandy Valley’s Peyton Nicholson, and Ridgewood’s Kathryn Kelley.

In Division IV, Hiland’s Ashley Mullet is first team All-Ohio. Her teammate, Joplin Yoder, is third team.

Strasburg’s Riley Thomas is third-team All-Ohio.

Special Mention went to Strasburg’s Sofia Secrest and Ally Miller, and Hiland’s Mallory Stutzman.

Written by